Brian Bluhm

April 17, 2007

My good friend and fellow contributor to this blog, Brian Bluhm, was among the 32 students killed in the massacre at Virginia Tech on Monday. I knew Brian exclusively through the Internet — I never met him in person or spoke to him on the phone. Still, I considered him an important person in my life and I am deeply saddened by his death.

It feels solipsistic to indulge my own feelings when so many people who knew him in “real life” are more devestated than I can imagine. But this great tragedy serves to remind me how people who otherwise wouldn’t know each other are able to forge meaningful bonds through the most unlikely of ways — like a shared passion for baseball or Uncle Tupelo.

Brian was an incredible person; I knew that much without the benefit of shaking his hand. He was kind and honorable and intelligent. He will be missed.

7 Responses to “Brian Bluhm”

  1. Deran Says:

    Very well said. I miss you Brian!!!

  2. Donna Maas Says:

    I appreciate hearing everyones thoughts and memories of Brian. Thank you for writing. HIs family and so many others are all affected by his death.

  3. C Joseph Says:

    I knew Brian only through this site and minorleagueball.com, but am saddened by his passing all the same, in my small way.

    Shalom, Brian Bluhm.

  4. Rudy F Says:

    Did Not know anyone at Va Tech but am compelled to email my sympathies and to say how sorry i am to see such an event happen…in the arms of the angels i hope all of you will be comforted….God Bless You All…

  5. Dirk Gently Says:

    The internet allows us to make friends from all over the planet that we’ll never meet in person, none of this diminishes the friendship or the feelings we have for them..I don’t see it as indulgent, merely a memorial for your friend.


  6. […] Brian Bluhm My good friend and fellow contributor to this blog, Brian Bluhm, was among the 32 students killed in the massacre at […] […]

  7. Justin T Says:

    I can’t wait to meet you in heaven!Thank you for your testomony!
    Thank you for your courage-
    brother in christ- Justin
    Age 22


Leave a comment